National University of Lomas de Zamora (Argentina)

National University of Lomas de Zamora (Argentina)

National University of Lomas de Zamora. Public University of Argentina, has the mission of guaranteeing education to all the inhabitants of the country. Created on October 13, 1972, as part of the same education expansion program that would lead to the foundation of Jujuy, La Pampa, Catamarca, Entre Ríos, Luján, Misiones, Salta, San Juan, San Luis and Santiago del Estero.


At the end of the 1960s, the community of Lomas de Zamora, based on the impulse of its intermediate organizations, outlined the aspirations of having a university study center.

The creation of the UNLZ, on October 13, 1972 with the sanction of Law 19,888, which it creates -along with other houses of higher education- was inspired, on the one hand, by the resizing of national universities -especially Buenos Aires and La Plata -, which for some time had been overloaded by a growing student population, and on the other hand, due to the great demographic growth that took place between 1960 and 1970 ; that in Lomas de Zamora reached 51% and in Greater Buenos Aires 31%.

In this context, the first students registered for the three new careers: Bachelor of Administration, Rural Engineering, and Bachelor of Social Communication, three proposals that tried to give a “non-traditional” profile to the UNLZ careers. After a few years, the Bachelor’s degrees in Journalism, Advertising, Labor Relations and Public Relations are added, which today make up the academic offer of the Faculty of Social Sciences, together with the Bachelor’s degrees in Education Sciences, Letters, Psychopedagogy, and Social Work. and the Technician in Minority and Family.

Mission and values

The National University of Lomas de Zamora understands Education as a social good that must be guaranteed to all the country’s inhabitants. In this sense, its mission is to work to make this precept a reality.


This University, located in the heart of Greater Buenos Aires, coexists with the complex socio-economic reality that it integrates due to its geographical location. The objective of this house of studies is to ensure the conditions of access to the Public, Free and Gratuitous University to guarantee equal opportunities. The access of any citizen to the Public University constitutes an acquired right. Higher education should not only be a public and social good, but also a universal human right and a responsibility of the state.


The task is to build an increasingly extensionist university with open doors to the community in which it is inserted. Not only must we continue with the policy of taking the university to every corner of the region so that it is within the reach of the most neglected sectors, we must also listen to society, its demands and its proposals, generating a valuable dialogue that allows us to participate actively in the search for solutions to the needs of the community.

Scientific development

The Public University must play a strategic role in the current production model, both in the training of human resources and in the design of better production strategies. We must stimulate scientific and academic development, and commit ourselves to the production of new knowledge. The UNLZ assumes the commitment to encourage research and the development of scientific activity as a tool that allows expanding the cognitive field of each specialty and producing changes in the daily life of the society in which it is inserted.

Academic quality

The teaching of this university is recognized in different fields. Through evaluation tools for material and human resources, we maintain standards of excellence in careers, while promoting the updating and critical review of content.


At UNLZ, education is not limited to the transmission of useful knowledge for working life. Personal development is also advocated within the framework of democratic values ​​of equality and respect. To this end, an active promotion and defense of Human Rights, Democracy, Justice and Historical Memory is undertaken.


  • Law School (8)
  • Faculty of Engineering (11)
  • Faculty of social sciences (9)
  • Faculty of economic sciences (5)
  • Faculty of Agricultural Sciences

National University of Lomas de Zamora (Argentina)

Comments are closed.